Unclaimed Property: 605-773-3379 | Main Office: 605-773-3378
Josh Haeder
state treasurer
South Dakota
Josh Haeder Photo
menu navigation button

Boards, Councils, and Treasurers

Board of Finance

The State Treasurer is a member of the State Board of Finance. This board deals with financial issues that affect the state including reviewing bad debt, moving allowance for state transfers and professional recruitment, determines state meal and motel allowances, etc.

State Investment Council

The State Treasurer is a member of the Investment Council. State funds are invested by the State Investment Office under the supervision of the Investment Council. The Council has over 10 billion dollars of retirement and state funds invested. The Treasurer has the custodial responsibility and monetary settlement for these investment transactions.

Previous State Treasurers

Rich Sattgast 2011-2018
Vernon L. Larson 2003-2010
Richard D. Butler 1995-2002
G. Homer Harding 1991-1995
Janis Y. Kellley 1990-1991
David L. Volk 1973-1990
Neal Strand 1969-1973
Al Hamre 1967-1969
Lloyd Jorgenson 1963-1967
Al Hamre 1959-1963
Ed T. Elkins 1955-1959
Theodore Mehlhaf 1951-1955
C.E. Buehler 1947-1951
Hazel Dean 1945-1947
E. V. Youngquist 1943-1945
John N. Thompson 1942-1943
W. G. Douglas 1939-1942
W. H. Hinselman 1937-1939
Frank G. Siewert 1933-1937
C. Goodhope 1931-1933
J. Moodie 1927-1931
James L. Driscoll 1923-1927
W. S. O'Brien 1921-1923
G. H. Helgerson 1917-1921
W. Ewert 1913-1917
George G. Johnson 1909-1913
C. H. Cassill 1907-1909
C. B. Collins 1903-1907
John Schamber 1899-1903
Kirk G. Phillips 1895-1899
W. W. Taylor 1891-1895
Wilbur F. Smith 1889-1891